Why are Friends so Hard to Make in Your 20s?

Hello Readers! I’m overjoyed to see even more of you! Thank you for the support 🙂 Please comment on my posts; I need the feedback to make my blog better for you. A writer is nothing without her audience!

Ok so here’s the topic of the day – Friends *cue Friends theme song* Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve never been good with friends. Let me get this straight, I’m not a mean person or a bully, it’s just that it always seems like, no matter if it was high school or college, I always care more about the friendship than others. I’ve had a few exceptions, but for the most part I think I’m meant to be more of an acquaintance than a friend.

To add to this curse, I am also super shy, like can’t even turn to the kid in class to ask how the quiz was shy. I never even went to a college party or bar hopping. It’s never been me. I’m more of a let’s play board games, go to art museums, and make snores person lol. Thankfully, when I was a junior in college, I got into my first honor society which opened doors for acquaintances and allowed me to open up a bit. However, where do I go from here now? High school friends are long gone, college acquaintances and I speak every now and then, but honestly where do I go for friends now? There are no adult clubs, (upon a quick reread, this does not sound the way I wanted. . .) unless I run the risk of being murdered on Craigslist, all because I wanted to meet up and talk about Harry Potter.

Where do people in their 20s go to make friends after college? Where is the Tinder for friendship?

Holly, 23

Looking for Harry Potter marathon, road trip, Friendsgiving pals that I can be my nerdy self with!

Despite my forever alone status, I know this is a common issue with people in my age bracket. Or at least I think it is. . . Maybe it is just me? I don’t know. Where are majority of your friends from? School? Work? Neighbors? Am I just doing something wrong?

Is making friends in the 20s, away from school an issue or am I just in my own head?

Author: writingforthemoment

Just graduated college, Summa Cum Laude, yet I have no idea what I am doing with my life.

8 thoughts on “Why are Friends so Hard to Make in Your 20s?”

      1. I just didn’t get on with many people at college, majority were acting like we were still in HS and i hated high school. Also,I’m more of a loner most of the time,hate the party scene,etc. . All the “friends” i made were made out of convenience (ex: when we all worked together) so we don’t really keep in touch.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

